top of page
Writer's pictureExpeditionThailand

Final Thoughts!

Updated: Jun 30, 2021

This is it! The final blog! The team are now home, or on their way, (I'm finishing this off in the final moments before I get my train) and with our 2 weeks of exploring Scotland's West Coast at an end, we thought we would share some of our final thoughts; what we loved, how we found planning the expedition, and how the projects are going...Sorry for the delay, but trying to organise the entire team's final thoughts took more planning than we realised.


As they say, a picture tells a thousand words. With each team member's views, we have also put together a collection of their best photos so you can really get a feel for what they've been up to. We will be putting all of the photos into an album on our Facebook page and, as the team uncovers hidden gems in their camera rolls, we will be posting our favourites on social media, so keep an eye out!


We would also like to say one final and massive thank you to everyone who has been supporting our expedition. Thank you to the companies who donated products to our raffle; to everyone who donated money, through our GoFundMe or through the Easyfundraising page; to those who attended our fundraising events; to our families for supporting us as we set off; and finally to everyone who has been following us on social media. We have had the best time and are so glad that people have been enjoying reading our blogs and seeing what we've been up to.


Now, without further ado, the team's final thoughts!


Thank you!

The Seaweed Team


 

Lois McLean - 3rd Year Marine and Freshwater Biology Co-leader, Honours Researcher, and Secretary



What was your project and how did it go?

My research project will be answering the question 'does seaweed farming have an impact on the health and abundance of benthic organisms.' To collate my data I have been taking images of the seabed in Skye below a seaweed farm and on the three control sites around this area (this will provide a good comparison). In Kilchoan Estate I have also pursued the same methodology and have been taking images of the seabed where a proposed seaweed farm is due to be built ensuring no protected marine species will be impacted, these photographs will also provide a good basis for future images to see a great before and after of the seabed underneath a seaweed farm. The project went well and most of the images have turned out fantastic and there are already some identified species, such as scallops, sea urchins, brittle stars, algae, and soft corals!


How have you found being a leader on the expedition?

I have really enjoyed being a leader and I have definitely gained great experiences and skills from this role. However stressful at times, I have been really lucky to have a fantastic and reliable team. And I have really enjoyed seeing everyone's hard work being pulled together to produce such a fab and successful expedition (especially during COVID).


What was your favourite part of working on Skye?

Skye was stunning! Despite the rain and the midges and the tent flooding and the cold nights it was a fantastic experience. I thoroughly enjoyed finally getting some field experience on a boat and collecting data first hand. Learning from Kyla and Martin about the wonderful work that Kelp Crofting are doing was incredibly interesting. My favourite part had to be the day on the boat and finally putting the camera contraction made out of an old dog crate (thanks Dad!) into the water and it working!


What was your favourite part of working at Kilchoan?

The first day of Kilchoan Estate made us all very jealous but also absolutely amazed and inspired by the thought of a rewilding estate. The knowledge I have gained from the short time spent at this estate has been me amazed! My favourite part of working from Kilchoan was after the first camera drop when I pulled it out the water and saw an image that was abundant with hundreds of marine organisms! That made my day!


What have been your highlights of the expedition?

There are soooo many highlights of this expedition. My one from Skye was the evening swim with the team at sunset! This was stunning! And carrying on the theme, the first day arriving at Kilchoan when the sea was crystal clear and we all went for a swim!


What was your favourite meal on the expedition?

That has to be Mike's mums pie...(all food has been great though!).


Anything else you want to add?

I have to say the BIGGEST shout out to the most amazing team ever! Everyone of you has been outstanding!

- Lewis, thank you for being soooo chill and keeping me chilled during my organising panic zoom calls and always saying 'it will be fine'. I hate to admit it, but yes it was fine!

- Mike, thank you for all your hard work, words of wisdom and teaching me that lemon and salt goes with absolutely every meal!

- Jennifer, thank you for having the most infectious smile ever, and making everyone laugh so much! And not to mention making the best cakes ever (but not the best bread).

- Dylan, thank you for being an absolute star and spending HOURS with me doing my image uploads.... I definitely would have given up if you were not here.

- Kerry, thank you for being so kind and happy, and being the best blogger ever and keeping all our family and friends up to date. You have really stepped into this role and have been boss at it! Thank you also for telling me I need to be more secure and that I would not last a day in the big city (aka London).


 

Lewis MacLeod - 3rd Year Marine and Freshwater Biology Co-leader and Honours Researcher



What was your project and how did it go?

My project was on the distribution of scallop larvae throughout the water column and after an initial couple of hiccups, it ended up going pretty smoothly and gave me some valuable lessons in fieldwork and how to design and carry out a study! Hopefully the data that I have collected will provide Martin and Kyla at the seaweed site with some useful information on what depths to deploy their sprat collectors so that they can successfully harvest native scallops from the water.


What was your favourite part of working on Skye?

My favourite part of working on Skye was getting to explore the island! The landscape and wildlife is absolutely beautiful, I am already planning my return :) Working with Martin and Kyla was also a great opportunity both of them were really interesting people with an amazing project and speaking with them has definitely given me a good insight into what it's like working in the seaweed industry.


What was your favourite part of working at Kilchoan?

Kilchoan was such a lovely estate, I have a lot of highlights. Being right by the sea was ideal for me and being able to saunter down to the pontoon for a morning dip was a great way to freshen up at the start of the day! Patting the Highland cows and sheep was also up there as well as being affectionately mauled by Lucy the dog :) On the last day, Mike and I caught some mackerel and had them for our brekky which was the perfect end to the trip.


What have been your highlights of the expedition?

The highlight of the trip was definitely getting to meet and spend some time with such lovely people, you were all perfect and I'm so glad to have you all as my new pals :) the car sing alongs also really kept me going on the long winding country roads!


What was your favourite meal on the expedition?

My favourite meal was probably Lois and Kerry's Sunday roast on the saturday night and topped off with Jennifer amazing banoffee cake, it was delishhh


Anything else you want to add?

I would like to add an a big thank you to the team for all their hand work and good vibes! Also many thanks to the staff at the Estate who were so hospitable and to Kyla, Martin, and Marnik (Kilchoan's resident marine biologist) for giving us their time and taking us out on their boats, showing us their sites and making our projects possible :) I had a blast!


 

Mike Tellalis - 1st Year Geography Grants Officer


What was your favourite part of working on Skye?

On Skye I really liked the 'roughing it' aspect of our stay, what with the rainy camping and midges everyday. Before I came on the trip, as weird as it may sound, I was hoping we'd have some time like that, where we're all miserable and not allowed any of our comforts. I believe times like that help build friendships more than anything else, and beyond that, also give valuable perspective on our more comfortable times at home. The boat days encapsulated this thought by testing our resilience, both to labour and climate; ultimately though, doing fieldwork and then analysing it was a welcome addition to my understanding of the Science behind Marine Biology!


What was your favourite part of working at Kilchoan?

Almost the polar opposite of Skye, living at the estate and playing house with everybody was lovely. The place itself was beautiful and going on long. rambling walks through its many whimsical intricacies was very pleasant. Making dinner for each other was very fun too and made me feel like a dinner party hosting adult. I am so glad to have had the opportunity to stay there, it's implanted in me a long term goal to own such an estate dedicated to conservation.


What have been your highlights of the expedition?

Building and sitting round a fire, ukulele, dinner, swimming, boating, reading... laughing.


What was your favourite meal on the expedition?

Lois & Kerry's roast, with a glass of wine was quaint.


Anything else you want to add?

Kerry - I really enjoyed your banter. You always know how to have a laugh and like I told you, I get 'sister vibes' from you. Your unapologetic, savage, but also very warm & kind demeanour makes you a lovely person to be around. Thanks for working hard on the social media, the memories you've vaulted will be a gem to come back and reminisce... God knows I'm glad we swapped roles.

Dylan - Ah, Dylan, Dylan, Dylan. You make me laugh so much by just being you. And weirdly it's not (always) laughing at you but with you and your silliness. You're a special dude, don't ever change.

Lois - You made this all possible so thank you. After we finished collecting your data and your stress faded away I felt so glad to see you laugh and smile again. I also respect your taste for the finer things in life, mainly food & wine. You have a future on the Med for sure.

Jennifer - Thank you for braiding my hair and being there to listen. You've got a future in baking if you want it. Constant sunscreen application was quite funny, be careful if you ever come to Cyprus.

Lewis - Cheers for teaching me a wee bit of Scottish slang. Scooby doo y'alright pal. Chill vibes up the wazoo. Never lose your opened mind bro. You're always welcome in Cyprus, you'll fit like a glove my son. Take her easy for the rest of us sinners.


 

Jennifer Sibbald - 2nd Year Zoology Fundraising Officer



How did you find planning the expedition as the fundraising officer?

I absolutely loved being the Fundraising Officer for the expedition! It was so interesting and fun coming up with ideas that would work online, and the team really took on board my ideas and came up with great ones too! The Bake-Along was such awesome fun and I loved trying my hand at being a wee baking show host (LOL). The raffle was also a great success, receiving prizes from so many generous companies. Giving them all out to friends and family of the expedition was really rewarding. I have definitely learned so much about raising money and have never sent so many emails in my life!

I have gained such a respect for how important fundraising is - without it our amazing leaders could not have carried out their projects and so I am extremely thankful to both our friends and family , as well as the wonderful team itself for pulling through and making this all a reality!


What was your favourite part of working on Skye?

Well, to start off with it would have to be the jolly outings on the boat! The team spirit was always great, and so were the snacks (breadsticks and Haribos!). The boat, Ailsa, was so cool and Martin's help was invaluable. It made my absolute day when he let me drive the boat!


I also loved sitting around the campfire every night, midgy nets on our heads, full tummies and chatting away. Cooking on the trangia stoves really challenged us to cook in a different way and I was blown away by some of the fabulous meals that the team came up with. And a hugeee thanks to my cooking partner, Lewis, you taught me so much (making sure that the food was WELL seasoned) and made me laugh through it all!


Finally, I couldn't write my final thoughts about Skye without mentioning the girls tent. It was a bit crazy - we laughed, we cried, we were flooded out. Lois performed a puppet show through the tent wall with a torch and her hand. I rolled over onto Kerry several times in the night (I was sleeping on a slope!). The endless giggling. I wouldn't have had it any other way!


What was your favourite part of working at Kilchoan?

I have three favourite parts of working at Kilchoan - the animals, the swimming and the company!

From Highland cows and the adorable Valais blacknose lambs to the wide array of marine life (crabs, langoustine, starfish, seals, octopuses...the list goes on) there was just so much to see. I grinned from ear to ear every time, and that was really special.

I think we went swimming just about every day at Kilchoan Estate. The water was just stunning (although still chilly - thank you Lois for lending me a wetsuit!). I also really enjoyed swimming across one of the freshwater lochs with Dylan and Lewis, maybe next time we can make it there AND back!

Finally - the company. Living in the guesthouse for a week with the team was fantastic. The massive kitchen with an AGA really let us experiment with cooking, and sitting down to a meal at the big dining table together every evening was just lovely. We had such fun and games, from Monopoly Dealer to just sticking post-it notes on our heads!

Granted, it was lovely to have proper beds at the Estate, but Lois didn't get away from me that easily. We shared the twin room, and as she said it was 'just like a sleepover every night!'. However, we did miss our Kerry from the tent in Skye and I had to say an emotional goodnight to her each evening as we went to separate rooms!


What have been your highlights of the expedition?

I have managed to write a lot so far, so I shall keep this short and sweet.

My highlights have been:

- The boat trips

- The food!

- The friendships :)


What was your favourite meal on the expedition?

Every single meal was stunning. However, my favourite would have to be the roast on our last night! Lois and Kerry absolutely killed it. Chicken in a beautiful sauce, potatoes roasted to perfection, cabbage, peas, carrots...mmmmmm delicious!! Roast potatoes are my FAVOURITE and I could not fault Lois' roasties!


Anything else you want to add?

I have sooo much to say about the each and every member of the team. However, to sum up all of my feelings, I wrote them a wee (rather cheesy) poem:


Mike, thank you for letting me braid your beautiful hair

Lois, me and you made a perfect pair

Lewis, the funniest facial expressions I have ever seen, you do wear

Dylan, every memory with you I cherish to share

Kerry, thank you for being my friend, so full of care


 

Dylan Ashby - 1st Year Marine and Freshwater Biology Treasurer and Technological Adviser



How did you find being the treasurer for the expedition?

Working as the treasurer was great fun. Just input the numbers and excel does the rest. Shout out to Lois's dad for our budget template! In all seriousness having this role taught me the many ins and outs of budgeting a team, and the importance of spending organisation. All in order to conduct our science, stay fed and, if you budget hard enough, some sneaky entertainment here and there.


What was your favourite part of working on Skye?

I thoroughly enjoyed every part of being in Skye. So, I have many favourites. Though if I were to immediately name one it would be the sunset swim, experiencing a heavenly orange hue while freezing your arse off with your mates beside you makes you smile uncontrollably...pure bliss. The idea coming spontaneously made it even more thrilling. However, if I am to be completely transparent, I did NOT enjoy the midges, even when told, I definitely underestimated their power. Scotland's midges will hunt. you. down.


What was your favourite part of working at Kilchoan?

Every moment I spent in Kilchoan was amazing. Again, I don't have just one favourite part, I guess you can't when it's a dream come true to be there. Having the opportunity to live in a beautiful house with wholesome kitchen-cooked-midge-free food, the privilege too cosy up on a sofa to watch a movie, unlimited showers, and dry clothes was so, so good. Kayaking on the calm waters hearing nothing but the dribble and pushing of water from the paddle, also a highlight. And finally, the last day of the expedition, when we visited the blue slate pools of Easdale and got up after dinner, drinks in hand and had a laugh on the beach.


What have been your highlights of the expedition?

There have been so many highlights for me during the expedition I wouldn't have been able to fit them all into this wee paragraph. Every experience was a grand one. I loved experiencing real hands on scientific field work and working with professional marine biologist was inspiring. This method of learning I like the most and is very valuable to me. I also loved the little things; huddling around the fire during cold evenings while sharing our life stories with one another, bursting with laughter together, the swimming the silliness, the unconditional friendliness of locals, the deep chats, the nearly falling pretty much every time on the tiny stretch of rock path to the Kilchoan pontoon (you know who you are), the jump scares, the water thrashing up against the boat onto your face, the sea air, our off shoot adventures, the card games, and the support we gave for one another.


What was your favourite meal on the expedition?

One a budget and camping for the first half I have to say there wasn't a meal I didn't enjoy. But, Lois and Kerry's hearty chicken roast beautifully matched with Jennifer's rich banoffee pie was my favourite meal for sure. If I had to choose a favourite food item, it would without a doubt be the roasties, so crispy yet so fricking soft.


Anything else you want to add?

Kerry, I love your confidence and honestly, you speak what you feel, and I admire that about you. I laugh so hard at your witty comments and casual obliviousness that creeps out from time to time, such as when you helped look for the ukulele pointing confidently towards its case until it was pointed out it was bent, a good sign its empty. I also like that you offer to hug a lot for someone who doesn't like hugging.

Lois, I love your random musical singing, you're playfulness and your kind words. I think you should be so proud of yourself for getting through the GoPro banaza and not letting anything take you down. I don't like seeing anyone upset, I was determined to help you as much as I could. Thus, I truly felt so happy seeing all that weight drop off your shoulders and watching you scream/cheer in happiness and your silly self come back.

Lewis, dude I love your chillness. Even your dance moves are chill. I like that nothing really bothers you (apart from the royal family) and that you seem content with whatever the situation is. I also love your statements such as 'that's a wee number', 'wee oldean', 'Alroity' and of course 'it will be fine'.

Jennifer aka Jenify Smelly Feet, you have great chat and top tier British Bake Off worthy baking skills. I love how bubbly you are and how you make everyone feel so welcome. I also appreciate how caring you are about people.

Mike, your music taste is brilliant, I've gained a lot more music knowledge due to you. I love the hilarious moments we found ourselves in whether it was while half asleep in the tent or watching Crocodile Dundee. Lastly, I applaud how intricately you describe and and appreciate life's pleasures whether it be a lemon or a walk.

This expedition and meeting you guys has been awesome and I'll never take that for granted. Here's to our next adventures together.


 

Kerensa Ballantyne (Kerry) - 1st Year Zoology Social Media and Publicity



How did you find running the expedition's social media?

I have really enjoyed running the expedition's social media pages. There are a lot of them, I can't lie: Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, not to mention the blog! I've said from the beginning, running the social media is a full time job. Never the less, I have really enjoyed it! I've had to really keep up with everything that's been going on during the expedition in order to keep you guys up to date, but its allowed me to really live in the moment. With so many compliments coming through about the blog, the pressure has been on, but I am so glad that everyone has been enjoying reading them as much as I have enjoyed writing them.

I spent a lot of the expedition with my phone in everyone's faces, trying to get pictures and videos to share (hence why in a lot of the tiktoks everyone looks a little fed up with the camera) but in the end it was 100% worth it. We have things we can turn back to to remind us of every aspect of the trip and I am so blessed that I got to help save those memories.


What was your favourite part of working on Skye?

(If we don't include the fact that our tent flooded and that Jennifer and I had to sleep in a storage caravan) Skye was brilliant! I don't know if I can choose one favourite part! I have spent so little time in Scotland that it was brilliant to just spend some time on Skye after I've heard so much about it (thanks Mum and Dad). If I had to pick one thing, it would probably be when we went swimming at sunset...it was just SO beautiful, even though the water was a bit chilly. Lois and I were walking back from doing the washing up and we just looked out to the sea and agreed that we had to go for a swim.


What was your favourite part of working at Kilchoan?

Kilchoan Estate was just totally beautiful! I was blown away when we arrived and honestly every part of it has been AMAZING! I loved seeing the Valais Blacknose lambs (I am a big fan of sheep) and holding the brown crab. But just generally seeing such a variety of marine life in one week and in one place was so exciting. I was the lucky person who got the ensuite bedroom, with the lovely shower and the massive bed. It was so nice to get some good sleep after spending a week in a tent. It did mean, however, that I was taking a quick afternoon nap and both Lewis and Mike came through for a shower, and I went up to bed one evening to find Lois, Jennifer, and Dylan under my covers. My room very quickly became a communal space.


What have been your highlights of the expedition?

After a year of being stuck inside and not getting to do any lab work at uni, just being able to get out and get in the field has been so good! I have loved spending two weeks on the water, collecting real data. Our first pint together as a team in Plockton was also really special...games and meals altogether around the table at Kilchoan...swimming nearly everyday...seeing so many sea eagles...sitting down each evening and getting to write out everything we've done and collect the photos...capturing the silly moments on video for the TikTok...the list is endless...


What was your favourite meal on the expedition?

I honestly don't think there has been a meal I haven't liked, but I did fall in love with the mango and chickpea curry. I had never thought to put cubed mango in a curry (and I audibly doubted it) but it worked and it worked well! Plus, after a week of eating food over a camp stove surrounded by midges, the curry night was our first meal around the table, indoors, and you can't beat that.


Anything else you want to add?

So, the team has been AMAZING this year, and I know its been said before, but its true. We have worked so hard to get this expedition underway, and in very difficult and unpredictable circumstances, but here we are! The final blog post! Surely we did a good job?


I have been lucky enough to meet, and spend two weeks with, this brilliant team, so I thought I would introduce them to you as I have learnt to know them. Mike is the team's resident Cypriot. Amongst his great taste in music and sarcastic (sometimes slightly dark) humour, he recommends lemon and salt with every meal. And honestly? He's right. Between him and Lewis, we had some great tunes on the road. When it comes to Lewis, all you need is to see him with a dog. They love him! Every dog we met on the road, seemed as excited to see Lewis, as Lewis was to see it. He keeps it cool, calm, and collected in all things, even when the rest of us are stressed or when there are idiots on the road - he was the expedition's dedicated driver. A legend in the making for sure. Speaking of legends, Dylan is the definition of one. He is always positive, always ready with a kind word and a laugh, always prepared to have some fun. On top of all that, he is SO patient! Without his technical support, I don't even know where we would be - probably stressed out of our minds as Lois's data vanishes into the void. So Dylan, you are a boss, don't forget it! Now, onto the ladies who I shared a tent with in Skye and who I am determined to see again - Jennifer is currently next to me chatting to herself as she cleans mud from her boots. She brought so much to the expedition team. Not only her incredible baking skills, but her infectious laugh and very good hugs. She is just completely genuine. Although one thing you should know is that if you ever have to share a tent with her, her hair will find its way onto ALL of your clothes. Never the less, I couldn't have wished for anyone better to be flooded out of the tent with, she shared the only dry pillow with me and if that isn't friendship, I don't know what is. Our final team member is Lois, who can put on a killer puppet show (I'm sorry to have brought it to an unexpected end). I am totally in awe of Lois's patience, both with us and with her technology (which seemed determined to do the opposite of what we wanted). She can cook some amazing food (the team's favourite meals speak for themselves), has some banging dance moves and, honestly, she taught me so much - it did get to the point that I was having a mini epiphany every other day. Between her and Jennifer, you can always get a hug, even when you don't think you need one. I think I speak for all of us when I say that we had the most amazing time and without Lois being just totally on it from the start, the expedition would never have gone ahead.

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page